skip to main content
FFA holds banquet
Posted On:
Friday, May 20, 2016
News Image

     Recently the Melbourne Chapter of the Future Farmers of America (FFA) held a banquet to recognize its members for their many accomplishments throughout the school year. As a mission, The National FFA Organization is “dedicated to making a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education.” Mrs. Laci Turner, FFA Advisor, and the club’s officers gave pins and certificates to members for various rewards. The Discovery FFA Degree, which is designed to recognize Jr. High FFA members who have participated in FFA activities outside of scheduled class time and who possess knowledge of agricultural opportunities and the chapter’s Program of Activities, was presented to Riley Clairday, Jonathon Coggins, Ashton Cowan, Kinley Dale, Tristan Elms, Bailey Miller, Payten Mutz-Hutchins, Lance Mynatt, Aaron Pettyjohn, Brayden Roddy, Caysen Shaw, Graci Skelton, Kilee Taylor, and Sophie Wyatt. Another degree, the Greenhand FFA Degree, went to FFA members who have learned the FFA creed, motto, mission statement, code of ethics, and history as well as the proper use of the official FFA jacket. Those recipients were Kaylen Ables, Hunter Brokaw, Christopher Busby, Drew Busby, Tanner Cooper, Tyler Cunningham, Chase Davis, Garrett Lail, Grayson Melton, Sydney Presley, Stone Runyan, Cara Shaw, Gabriel Tate, Hunter Townsley, and Brandon White. The Chapter FFA Degree went to those members who have previously received a Greenhand Degree and who have taken agricultural courses at or above the 9th grade level. These students have also maintained a satisfactory SAE and scholastic record, planned the chapter’s Program of Activities, and participated in community service events. Being recognized were Blair Ables, Bryan Blevins, Luke Booker, Hunter Brokaw, Drew Busby, Staci Campbell, Preston Clairday, Mary Alice Cole, Elijah Conley, Ty Cornelius, Dalton Dale, Kirby Dale, Logan Engles, Kyran Faver, Taylor Goodman, Ty Grimes, Hunter Guilner, Kaylee Jo Guthrie, Angie Hall, Cole Hennigan, Joseph Jeffery, Cole Lamb, Vance Little, Drew Love, Jana MacArthur, Colby Morgan, Ethan Phillips, Charles Pike, Jonathan Powell, Casey Rush, Nick Rush, Cara Shaw, Collin Sisk, Elizabeth Swaims, Hunter Townsley, Tristan Weaver, Brandon White, Austin Winslow, Caeden Wolfe, and Savannah Youngblood. At the conclusion of the ceremony, the FFA officers received praise for their leadership and dedication to the club. They were President Mary Alice Cole, Vice-President Kaylee Jo Guthrie, Secretary Savannah Youngblood, Treasurer Tristan Weaver, Reporter Cara Shaw, Sentinel Ty Cornelius, Jr. Advisor Blair Ables, and Student Council Representatives Jana MacArthur and Elijah Conley. Advisor Phillip Johnson and other members of the club prepared a delicious meal consisting of burgers, hot dogs, grilled potatoes, and strawberry shortcake to show appreciation to the community for its support.

View all Highlights